European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Press Release | 5 July 2012
Settlement expansion, enabled by discriminatory restrictions on Palestinians in the Jordan Valley, is destroying the viability of a future Palestinian state, a new report by Oxfam said today. The...
Settlement expansion, enabled by discriminatory restrictions on Palestinians in the Jordan Valley, is destroying the viability of a future Palestinian state, a new report by Oxfam said today.
Media Reaction | 4 July 2012
Oxfam strongly welcomes the European Parliament’s vote against the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) by a majority of 478 votes out of 682. ACTA would have posed a serious threat to poor...
Press Release | 28 June 2012
Incoming World Bank president Jim Yong Kim must step up efforts to assist developing countries threatened by the euro zone crisis fallout, international agency Oxfam said ahead of his first day on...
Incoming World Bank president Jim Yong Kim must step up efforts to assist developing countries threatened by the euro zone crisis fallout, international agency Oxfam said ahead of his first day on the job.
Media Reaction | 22 June 2012
Today EU Finance Ministers, meeting in Luxembourg, agreed to drop the idea of an EU-wide European Financial Transaction Tax (FTT). Instead, Ministers proposed to move forward in taxing the financial...
Media Reaction | 18 June 2012
European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso said today at the G20 that he expects agreement on a Financial Transaction Tax (FTT) to be reached soon.Oxfam spokesperson Luc Lampriere said: “Last...

EurActiv - As EU pares budgets, Turkey and Korea step up aid spending

13 February 2013

European Voice – The biggest casualty of budget cuts will be humanitarian aid

4 February 2013

EurActiv - EU aid budget must be protected from hard bargaining

4 February 2013

The Parliament Magazine - Leading charity in robust defence of EU budget support

4 February 2013

New Europe - Eleven member states sign-up to FTT

4 February 2013

by Lies Craeynest, Oxfam’s EU climate expert


It is a well-known fact that one of the industries most vulnerable to climate change is the food industry. Their long global supply chains – sourcing...

Read more »

By Natalia Alonso, Oxfam’s EU Head of Office

The latest figures from the OECD seem promising but hide an uncomfortable truth. Donors have collectively increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Head of Communications / Deputy Head of EU Office
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Hilary Jeune
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Hilary.Jeune@oxfaminternational.org

Joanna Sullivan
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Joanna.Sullivan@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Sarah El Attar
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17   
Email: Sarah.ElAttar@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Gilles Van Handenhove
Brand & Communications Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 24
Email: Gilles.VanHandenhove@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org