European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Press Release | 23 May 2012
European leaders meeting today to discuss ways of boosting economic growth should press ahead with plans for a financial transaction tax (FTT), Oxfam said. The international agency’s call comes as a...
European leaders meeting today to discuss ways of boosting economic growth should press ahead with plans for a financial transaction tax (FTT), Oxfam said.
Media Reaction | 23 May 2012
Today, the European Parliament voted in favour of an European Financial Transaction Tax (FTT), with 487 votes in favour out of 685. The vote took place a few hours before an EU 'growth summit' in...
Media Reaction | 15 May 2012
At the start of the latest round of UN climate talks in Bonn, EU Finance Ministers today debated the state of play of Europe’s commitment to help fight climate change in developing countries. Lies...
Media Reaction | 14 May 2012
International humanitarian agency Oxfam welcomes the unprecedented stance taken by EU Foreign Ministers, meeting in Brussels today, which strongly criticizes Israeli government policies towards ‘Area...
Media Reaction | 14 May 2012
EU Development Ministers, meeting today in Brussels, gave the green light to SHARE - a new European initiative to boost the prevention of hunger and famine in the Horn of Africa. Leading NGO agencies...

Die Welt - Hilfsbündnis warnt: EU-Budget-Kürzungen könnten "Leben kosten"

21 December 2012

AlertNet - EU Commission head says aid cuts will cost lives

21 December 2012

EurActiv - Washington weighs moving climate politics beyond UNFCCC

21 December 2012

Reuters - EU fails to fill cash gap as climate talks loom

21 December 2012

New Europe - Failure to agree on budget will hit development aid hardest

21 December 2012

By Natalia Alonso, Oxfam’s EU Head of Office

The latest figures from the OECD seem promising but hide an uncomfortable truth. Donors have collectively increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s...

Read more »

By Martin Butcher is Oxfam’s Policy Advisor on Conflict and Arms


As the fourth EU-Africa summit takes place in Brussels, we note that the theme “Investing in People, Prosperity and Peace” reflects exactly Africa’s needs, and emphasizes Oxfam’s concerns about armed violence and conflict in Africa which are at the base of the...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Deputy Head of EU Office / Head of Communications
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Matti Kohonen
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Matti.Kohonen@oxfaminternational.org

Catherine Olier
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Catherine.Olier@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Benjamin Butcher
EU Media & Communications Intern
Tel: +32 2 234 11 29      
Email: Benjamin.Butcher@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org