European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Media Reaction | 22 January 2014
The European Commission unveiled today its vision for Europe’s climate and energy policies from now to 2030. The blueprint includes a 40 per cent reduction in CO2 emissions and a 27 per cent target...
Media Reaction | 15 January 2014
Today the European Parliament and the Greek EU Presidency sealed a deal on the reform of the Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID), which sets new regulation for financial markets. The...
Media Reaction | 20 December 2013
Today EU leaders recognised the need to ramp up efforts to combat tax dodging, but failed to agree on a clear pathway to make it happen.   Natalia Alonso, Head of Oxfam’s EU Office, said: “We...
Media Reaction | 17 December 2013
Oxfam reaction to EU Court of Auditors report on EU climate finance Today the European Court of Auditors released its findings of an audit of European financial support to help...
Media Reaction | 12 December 2013
Commenting on the failure of EU Energy Ministers to reach agreement on EU biofuel policy today, Marc Olivier Herman, Oxfam’s biofuels expert said: “Today’s failure to reach a decision on EU biofuels...

Irish Times - G7 leaders to renew pressure on Russia over Ukraine crisis

4 June 2014

ITV (UK) - Oxfam: 'Europe must break dirty energy addiction'

3 June 2014

La Stampa (Italy) - Oxfam: assenza Russia al G7 fa scattare l'allarme energia

2 June 2014

De Morgen (Belgium) - "Energie- en voedselcrisis dreigt voor EU"

2 June 2014

El País - Oxfam calcula que gravar la compra de acciones solo recaudará 4.000 millones

20 February 2014

by Lies Craeynest, Oxfam EU’s climate change expert

Climate change is the biggest threat to our chances of winning the fight against hunger. As governments gather in Japan to agree a major new scientific report, which is expected to highlight the grave dangers climate change presents to food production, a new report from Oxfam demonstrates...

Read more »

by Natalia Alonso, Oxfam EU’s Head of Office

Europe is running the risk of a lost generation. Hit by growing economic inequality and poverty, governments are failing to provide good quality public services and to...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Head of Communications / Deputy Head of EU Office
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Hilary Jeune
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Hilary.Jeune@oxfaminternational.org

Joanna Sullivan
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Joanna.Sullivan@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Sarah El Attar
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17   
Email: Sarah.ElAttar@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Gilles Van Handenhove
Brand & Communications Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 24
Email: Gilles.VanHandenhove@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org