European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Media Reaction | 21 September 2010
European Commission President José Manuel Barroso, on behalf of the European Union, today proposed a package of 1 billion Euros [$1.3 billion] to support reaching the MDGs in African, Caribbean and...
Media Reaction | 16 September 2010
EU heads of state agreed today to temporarily reduce tariffs on a number of key Pakistani products as soon as possible, and find a way to bring Pakistan into the EU's special trade benefits regime,...
Press Release | 15 September 2010
International development organizations Oxfam, Plan, Eurodad and Concern Worldwide called today on EU leaders, meeting tomorrow for the first time to examine Europe’s role as a global power, to shift...
International development organizations Oxfam, Plan, Eurodad and Concern Worldwide called today on EU leaders, meeting tomorrow for the first time to examine Europe’s role as a global power, to shift gear in their response to Pakistan.
Press Release | 13 September 2010
A special Eurobarometer report on development aid and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), published today by the European Commission, reveals that 9 out of 10 Europeans express steadfast support...
A special Eurobarometer report on development aid and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), published today by the European Commission, reveals that 9 out of 10 Europeans express steadfast support for overseas aid despite the economic recession in Europe.
Press Release | 25 August 2010
Flood-affected areas now constitute the world's largest freshwater lake, says Oxfam Kristalina Georgieva, European Commissioner for International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response,...
Kristalina Georgieva, European Humanitarian Commissioner, today visited Pakistan to see the effect of the devastating floods on the country. More than 17 million people are now affected by the floods – in an area that now constitutes the world's largest freshwater lake.

Public Service Europe - EU ignoring impact of biofuels on food security

26 June 2012

Radio France International – Marc-Olivier Herman, spécialiste des agrocarburants au bureau européen d’Oxfam

18 June 2012

European Voice - Commission non-committal on renewables targets

12 June 2012

Le Figaro - Israël détruit des constructions de l'UE

12 June 2012

Radio Netherlands – EU Palestinian aid projects destroyed by Israel: NGOs

12 June 2012

By Natalia Alonso, Oxfam’s EU Head of Office

The latest figures from the OECD seem promising but hide an uncomfortable truth. Donors have collectively increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s...

Read more »

By Martin Butcher is Oxfam’s Policy Advisor on Conflict and Arms


As the fourth EU-Africa summit takes place in Brussels, we note that the theme “Investing in People, Prosperity and Peace” reflects exactly Africa’s needs, and emphasizes Oxfam’s concerns about armed violence and conflict in Africa which are at the base of the...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Deputy Head of EU Office / Head of Communications
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Matti Kohonen
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Matti.Kohonen@oxfaminternational.org

Catherine Olier
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Catherine.Olier@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Benjamin Butcher
EU Media & Communications Intern
Tel: +32 2 234 11 29      
Email: Benjamin.Butcher@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org