European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Press Release | 28 May 2009
As the US and China intensify discussions on climate change, Oxfam International urges EU countries to put aside national interests and step up their leadership role. Torn by disputes within and...
As the US and China intensify discussions on climate change, Oxfam International urges EU countries to put aside national interests and step up their leadership role.
Press Release | 14 May 2009
As poor countries face the full impact of the economic crisis, European governments are falling short by nearly €40 billion (USD$55bn) on their aid promises, a new report from CONCORD, the...
As poor countries face the full impact of the economic crisis, European governments are falling short by nearly €40bn (USD$55m) on their aid promises and will not meet their 2010 aid target until 2012, a new report from CONCORD reveals.
Press Release | 2 March 2009
Europe is putting a global climate deal at risk and threatening the lives of millions of the world’s poorest, said development agency Oxfam International, as Environment Ministers met today to...
Europe is putting a global climate deal at risk and threatening the lives of millions of the world’s poorest, said development agency Oxfam International, as Environment Ministers met today to hammer out Europe’s position for a post-2012 global deal.
Press Release | 31 December 2008
Agency said UNSC must pass binding resolution demanding an immediate halt to violence.  Oxfam International said today that the crisis in Gaza was now critical; besides the fighting, the...
UN Security Council must pass binding resolution demanding an immediate halt to violence.
Press Release | 30 December 2008
International aid agency Oxfam called on EU foreign ministers to go beyond calls for increased humanitarian access into Gaza and push Israel and Hamas to agree an immediate ceasefire. The agency...
Oxfam International called on EU foreign ministers to go beyond calls for increased humanitarian access into Gaza and push Israel and Hamas to agree an immediate ceasefire.

Le Nouvel Observateur - Hollande propose une taxe dans l'UE sur toutes les transactions financières

5 March 2012

Le Huffington Post - Taxe Tobin: Sarkozy tient son projet de loi qui sera soutenu par l'Europe

5 March 2012

Mondiaal Nieuws - Duurzame humanitaire hulp noodzakelijk voor Somalië

29 February 2012

Inter Press Service - Somalia: NGOs Urge 'Solution From Within'

27 February 2012

Bloomberg - EU Ministers Mull Climate Aid From Airlines, Ships, Draft Shows

22 February 2012

By Natalia Alonso, Oxfam’s EU Head of Office

The latest figures from the OECD seem promising but hide an uncomfortable truth. Donors have collectively increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s...

Read more »

By Martin Butcher is Oxfam’s Policy Advisor on Conflict and Arms


As the fourth EU-Africa summit takes place in Brussels, we note that the theme “Investing in People, Prosperity and Peace” reflects exactly Africa’s needs, and emphasizes Oxfam’s concerns about armed violence and conflict in Africa which are at the base of the...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Deputy Head of EU Office / Head of Communications
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Matti Kohonen
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Matti.Kohonen@oxfaminternational.org

Catherine Olier
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Catherine.Olier@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Benjamin Butcher
EU Media & Communications Intern
Tel: +32 2 234 11 29      
Email: Benjamin.Butcher@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org