European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Media Reaction | 3 July 2013
Oxfam welcomed today’s vote by the European Parliament in favor of emergency measures to save the ailing European Emissions Trading System (ETS) and boost the EU carbon price to help curb CO2...
Media Reaction | 3 July 2013
Oxfam welcomed today’s vote by European Parliamentarians in support of a strong European Financial Transaction Tax (FTT) covering all instruments (shares, bonds and derivatives), as put forward by...
Press Release | 21 June 2013
Joint press release by Concord Denmark, Corporate Europe Observatory, Foodwatch, Friends Of The Earth Europe, Oxfam, Somo, World Development Movement Little will be done to curb harmful food...
Little will be done to curb harmful food speculation today as EU finance ministers meet to approve their position on the new Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID II) – which sets new regulations for financial markets. According to a broad coalition of environmental and development organizations, loopholes in the legislation will render it ineffective to prevent food speculation, and the resulting food price spikes that hit the poorest the hardest.
Media Reaction | 19 June 2013
Today the European Parliament's Environment Committee voted for a compromise deal on a European Commission proposal to reverse a decline in the price of carbon on the EU’s Emissions Trading Scheme (...
Media Reaction | 12 June 2013
12 June 2013 - Oxfam welcomed the Prime Minister’s announcement today that Canada will require mandatory disclosure of payments to governments by mining, oil and gas companies. Such transparency is...

Die Welt – Oxfam: Durch rigide Sparpolitik droht Massenarmut in Europa

18 September 2013

El País – 25 millones de europeos más ante el abismo de la pobreza

18 September 2013

BBC - Oxfam warning over cuts and poverty levels

18 September 2013

Adevarul - Oxfam: mãsurile de austeritate adâncesc sãrãcia în Europa

18 September 2013

Jornal de Noticias - Austeridade pode levar mais 25 milhões de europeus para a pobreza até 2025

18 September 2013

By Matti Kohonen, Oxfam’s EU policy advisor

Saturday marked International Woman’s Day, a global celebration and awareness initiative which highlights the socio-economic difficulties women face on a day to day basis, as well as ways we can tackle this. The European Union have long trumpeted their credentials on the issue, but...

Read more »

by Lies Craeynest, Oxfam’s EU climate change & food security expert

Food is power, in Europe and around the world. As one of the largest importers of food in the world as well as home to some of the most influential food companies, the industry in the European Union touches upon the lives of millions of people in many,...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Deputy Head of EU Office / Head of Communications
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Matti Kohonen
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Matti.Kohonen@oxfaminternational.org

Catherine Olier
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Catherine.Olier@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Benjamin Butcher
EU Media & Communications Intern
Tel: +32 2 234 11 29      
Email: Benjamin.Butcher@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org