European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Media Reaction | 13 June 2014
At today’s meeting of EU Energy Ministers, a debate was held on the 2030 European Climate and Energy Package as well as the Energy Security Strategy put forward by the European Commission last month...
Media Reaction | 13 June 2014
At today’s EU Energy Ministers Council, Ministers approved a proposal to amend the EU’s Renewable Energy Directive and Fuel Quality Directive. If adopted, this would see a 7% cap on food-based...
Press Release | 3 June 2014
Europe’s poor risk being forced to choose between heating and eating Russia’s absence from the G7 summit is a stark warning to Europe that political turmoil on its doorstep risks an energy price...
Russia’s absence from the G7 summit is a stark warning to Europe that political turmoil on its doorstep risks an energy price crisis, at the same time as the effects of climate change on food imports could drive up costs.
Media Reaction | 26 May 2014
Today the shape of the new European Parliament was revealed, with the results marred by weak turnout and a rise of Eurosceptic votes.   Natalia Alonso, Head of Oxfam’s EU Office, said: “Today’s...
Media Reaction | 13 May 2014
The European Commission’s new plan to boost the role of the private sector in development cooperation could put efforts to reduce poverty second to the interests of European companies, said leading...

Financial Times - West asked for aid not promises for African drought

21 February 2012

Euronews Famine threatens generation in Horn of Africa

21 February 2012

Press TV - Oxfam slams EU over slow Africa aid

21 February 2012

Sierra Express Media - Sierra Leone’s Finance Minister defends necessity of Budget Support in Europe

21 February 2012

Reuters - EU accused of dragging feet on global food security

10 February 2012

by Lies Craeynest, Oxfam’s EU climate expert


It is a well-known fact that one of the industries most vulnerable to climate change is the food industry. Their long global supply chains – sourcing...

Read more »

By Natalia Alonso, Oxfam’s EU Head of Office

The latest figures from the OECD seem promising but hide an uncomfortable truth. Donors have collectively increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Head of Communications / Deputy Head of EU Office
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Hilary Jeune
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Hilary.Jeune@oxfaminternational.org

Joanna Sullivan
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Joanna.Sullivan@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Sarah El Attar
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17   
Email: Sarah.ElAttar@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Gilles Van Handenhove
Brand & Communications Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 24
Email: Gilles.VanHandenhove@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org