European Union Office

Challenging EU policies to make them work for people in poverty

Media Reaction | 8 February 2013
Reacting to the conclusion of the European Council on the EU long-term budget, which is freezing EU anti-poverty aid at near current levels, Natalia Alonso, Head of Oxfam's EU Office, said: “The...
Media Reaction | 8 February 2013
Reacting to the draft conclusions of the European Council on the EU long-term budget, which are freezing EU development and humanitarian aid at current levels, Natalia Alonso, Head of Oxfam's EU...
Press Release | 6 February 2013
The compromise that EU leaders are set to reach on the European Union's long term budget this week will put millions of people on the line, Oxfam warned today ahead of the European Council. Oxfam...
Oxfam estimates that the proposed EU aid cuts could be enough to have lifted more than 4.6 million people in the poorest countries out of extreme poverty. The proposed cuts to emergency aid alone would mean the EU is turning a blind eye on the plight of 150 million people affected by disasters or conflicts.
Media Reaction | 22 January 2013
Reacting to the vote of the European Finance Ministers in favour of the 'enhanced cooperation procedure' for a financial transaction tax in eleven European countries, Nicolas Mombrial, Oxfam’s...
Media Reaction | 12 December 2012
In reaction to the European Parliament's plenary vote on the Financial Transaction Tax, Nicolas Mombrial, Oxfam’s EU Policy Adviser said: “The European Parliament's overwhelming support for an FTT...

Public Service Europe - EU must take 'concrete action' against money laundering

26 April 2013

Reuters - European Union reaches deal on tough oil, gas anti-corruption law

15 April 2013

EUobserver – Charities blame 'lack of political will' for EU aid cuts

5 April 2013

European Voice - Ministers hostile to biofuel limit

28 March 2013

Europolitics - Oxfam blasts environment ministers’ position

28 March 2013

by Céline Charveriat, Oxfam’s Director of Advocacy and Campaigns

The devastating effects of Typhoon Haiyan, which has seen an estimated 10,000 killed and affected up to 9.7 million people, has brought climate change firmly back on the agenda. The shocking event has left many Europeans calling for quick, effective...

Read more »

by Natalia Alonso, Head of Oxfam’s EUs office

My first impression of Bangladesh was very similar to my experience many years ago when I first stepped foot in Delhi: being a foreigner raised curiosity but always got a gentle smile and respectful glance. The well-known reputation of Bangladeshi hospitality was topped when, that...

Read more »

Sorry, there are no events currently.

Oxfam International’s European Union office in Brussels works to influence key decision-makers to ensure that EU policies affecting poor countries have a far reaching, positive impact on the lives of those most in need.

Our work spans numerous policy areas including food security, climate change, development policy and finance, and the provision of humanitarian assistance to victims of conflicts and natural disasters.

The EU office works together with Oxfam’s eight European affiliates in France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands. We also join forces with allied NGOs and civil society organizations.

Meet the team:

Natalia Alonso
Deputy Director of Advocacy and Campaigns / Advocacy Offices
Tel: +32 2 234 11 14
Email: Natalia.Alonso@oxfaminternational.org

Angela Corbalan
Deputy Head of EU Office / Head of Communications
Tel:  + 32 2 234 11 15
Email: Angela.Corbalan@oxfaminternational.org

Marc Olivier Herman
EU Economic Justice Policy Lead (Food Security > Biofuels / Financial Market Regulation)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 12
Email: Marco.Herman@oxfaminternational.org

Lies Craeynest
EU Economic Justice Policy Advisor (Food Security > Climate Change / Agricultural Development Policy)
Tel: +32 (0)2 234 11 20  
Email: Lies.Craeynest@oxfaminternational.org

Matti Kohonen
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Aid quantity & quality / Health and Education / EU budget 2014-2020 / Post 2015 agenda)
Tel: + 32 2 234 11 13
Email: Matti.Kohonen@oxfaminternational.org

Catherine Olier
EU Essential Services Policy Advisor (Development Policy & Finance > Fight against Tax Evasion and Avoidance / Domestic Resources and Financing for Development)
Tel: +32 (0) 22 34 11 25
Email: Catherine.Olier@oxfaminternational.org

Nicholas Todd
EU Advocacy Advisor (Financial Transaction Tax / Campaigning around European Parliament elections)
Tel: +32 2 234 11 19
Email: Nicholas.Todd@oxfaminternational.org

Sara Tesorieri
EU Conflict & Humanitarian Policy Advisor
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 16  
Email: Sara.Tesorieri@oxfaminternational.org

Hervé Busschaert
EU Partnership Development Consultant
Tel: +32 (0)4 734 816 15
Email: Herve.Busschaert@oxfaminternational.org

Natalia Danilov
Office Administrator
Tel.: +32 2 234 11 10
Email: Natalia.Danilov@oxfaminternational.org

Abraham Lombrana
Administrative Assistant
Tel +32 (0)2 234 11 21
Email: Abraham.Lombrana@oxfaminternational.org

Aislinn McCauley
EU Essential Services and GROW Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 17      
Email: Aislinn.McCauley@oxfaminternational.org

Nikoleta Arnaudova
EU Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Issues Assistant
Tel: +32 2 234 11 28      
Email: Nikoleta.Arnaudova@oxfaminternational.org

Benjamin Butcher
EU Media & Communications Intern
Tel: +32 2 234 11 29      
Email: Benjamin.Butcher@oxfaminternational.org

  

Other Brussels-based staff:

Oxfam International personnel not focusing on EU issues

Céline Charveriat
Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 11
Email: Celine.Charveriat@oxfaminternational.org

Daunia Jester
PA to Director of Advocacy and Campaigns
Tel: +32 2 234 11 22
Email: Daunia.Jester@oxfaminternational.org

Cécile Unternaehrer
Researcher on Aid & Development Finance
Tel: +32 2 234 11 26
Email: Cecile.Unternaehrer@oxfaminternational.org

Véronique Bonnet
French Translations Officer
Tel: +32 2 234 11 23
Email: Veronique.Bonnet@oxfaminternational.org